Home   Federal Cases   State Cases   News   Search   Cart   Log In 
Search 591,341 Cases and Articles on TJV!
News Categories


June 6, 2008

WASHINGTON, June 6, 2008--The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of 20 members, representing a broad array of agricultural, animal welfare and wildlife interests, to serve on the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (NWSAC). Members will serve their appointments through Feb. 19, 2010.

During their terms, the committee members will provide advice from diverse stakeholders to USDA on the activities and policies of wildlife services, a program within USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. The first meeting of the committee will occur this summer.

Nominations for individuals to serve on the committee were received from interested organizations, the academic community, stakeholder groups, individuals and other related parties. Committee members can serve up to three consecutive terms.

Ten former members still eligible for membership were reappointed to the committee along with 10 new members.

The returning 2008 NWSAC members are: Joel A. Alderete (Los Lunas, N.M.) of the New Mexico Farm and Livestock Bureau; Nina C. Baucus (Wolf Creek, Mont.), a rancher; Scott Bender (Window Rock, Ariz.) of the Navajo Nation; Karen Elaine “Maggie” Brasted (Washington, D.C.) of the Humane Society of the United States; Robert E. Frost (Lincoln, Calf.) a representative of the agricultural equipment industry; John E. Ostrom (St. Paul, Minn.), a representative of the aviation industry; Bryce R. Reece (Casper, Wyo.), a representative of wool growers; J. Maurice Shelton (San Angelo, Texas), a representative of the sheep and goat industry; Scott W. Steckel (Columbus, Ohio), a representative of the pest management industry and Patti L. Strand (Portland, Ore.), a representative of animal welfare.

The new 2008 NWSAC members are: Clait E. Braun (Tucson, Ariz.), a representative of wildlife interests; Chantel Depp (Frankfort, Ky.), a representative of urban wildlife interests; Howard B. Dew (Bend, Ore.), a representative of the timber industry; Michael T. Freeze (England, Ariz.), a representative of the aquaculture industry; Matthew J. Hogan (Washington, D.C.), a representative of state fish and wildlife agencies; Andrea L. Reed (Louisville, Ky.), a representative of animal welfare interests; Robert H. Schmidt (Logan, Utah), a representative of academic wildlife management; Stephen M. Schmitt (Lansing, Mich.), a representative of state wildlife disease interests; Richard D. Turner (Montpelier, Vt.), a representative of the aviation industry and Dan Wiltse (Lisbon, N.D.) a representative of the sunflower industry.



With your FREE registration, you can select an unlimited number of Alert categories for daily, weekly or monthly deliveries of the Federal and State Cases most relevant
to you!

Click Here to sign up.


Click the maroon box above for a formatted PDF of the decision.

All Content © 2007-2012 The Judicial View, L.L.C. All Right Reserved.
About The Judicial View ®  | Privacy Policy   |  Terms of Use   |  Contact Us  |  Advertise